Wednesday, January 15, 2014

At The Eleventh Hour: SNC Batch '02 Simple Get Together

Hi,everyone! I'm still here! HAHAHAHAPPY NEW YEAR!!! You think I'm abandoning this blog for good? Naaahhh,that won't happen! Anyways,this is my first post for 2014. The last one was in March last year. Yeah,that looong! The main brouhaha of this post is just a repost from the original post in my Facebook. I thought of composing a more decent one but I don't have the luxury of time to sit down and write, plus I love how everything I thought of the moment I was writing that post came out.So me and so instaspeech!!!(Ang daming post!) LOL Here it is. . .
In June 25th of 2012,Rizza and I sent a private message on Facebook to our batch mates. This was the message in verbatim : a decade has passed since our HS graduation, what can you say of an outreach activity and a batch get together on december? sounds cool to do?? let us hear what you have to say. we thought about this, leng and anarizza
Some gave positive feedback but a lot didn't even bother to respond. Needless to say, neither an outreach activity nor get together happened in 2012. What irked me was that months after,whenever I see them in the streets they'd ask me "Laong mag reunion,waya man lagi!" And I had to blurt it out that a mere yes is not enough, we need your support and finances to realize this idea.
This year was totally different though. I told Rizza that we had to make it happen by hook or by crook. We shall name our plan 'At the Eleventh Hour' because it's the eleventh year after our HS graduation and mainly because we ( Batch '02) always do things at the eleventh hour! HAHAHA
It wasn't until December 23rd when we started collecting money by 'coercion' HAHA Php200 na amotan tapos kailangan mu-coerce! Ingana ka gahi an batch! HAHA By 28,we only had Php 2,900 AND sheer determination that we can pull through with the party with the little amount we had. I had to say that during the "meeting sa suyod nan sakyanan" with Rizza and Pidong on the night of 28, I felt a tinge of shame.Nagpaalig-alig ko and I felt like my effort wasn't enough to convince the batch mates to support us.But we were so determined and nag strong na si Pidong, so we had to make it happen.
And it did happen! From the initial list of 16 people,we went up to 40 with some of them going in and out of the venue. To say that we had fun is an understatement. Chaaarrr!!! I really thought we wouldn't survive the night. I was afraid the food wasn't enough for us and that we wouldn't enjoy the party. Alas, the food was more than enough and mayged,ang beer niabot na lamang nan alas quatro sa buntag waya pa gihapon nahurot! HAHAHA
So I'd like to take this opportunity to say thank you to our sponsors for shelling out more for the batch. All of them asked not to be mentioned kay masipog. But I'll mention your names anyways. Teehee!
Thank you, Aloy&Honey,Mitchell&Chin,Joevick and Ryan. Kamo na ang nisponsor sa venue and beer!
Thank you to Pidong para sa rice and Bicol express. Grabe kalami,pwede mag order?
Thank you Rizza for providing the dessert! Grabe adto ka dessert all you can! Sugar rush galore! HAHA
Salamat kay Jeff sa pagsugba nan baboy. Best seller! Most talked sud an adto na night! Barbecue party,perhaps? HAHA
Salamat sad kan Alimark for the box of Cornetto ice cream! Weeee
And Alex for the bottles of tequila. (That tequila and RH tagay was lethal! And tequila plus tubig @#$%^&*!!!!)
Shayne,for suggesting that we hold the party at TOM'S AVENUE KTV. It was truly a nice karaoke place! Salamat sa pagpahangyo,Manang,di ta kaw gajud makalimtan! Chos!
And lastly,thank you to all of you who came,sang and danced with us until the break of dawn!
All of these wouldn't have happened if not for your support. Next year again!
Love,your pseudo President LENG
P.S. I'm sorry I had to strike off the pseudo President as I realized it's too big a responsibility to handle! HAHAHA Trivia: First time ta nagparty outside sa bayay na nagrent nan venue! We're in for a good start! Yahoo

Friday, March 22, 2013

DIY: Fruit Basket in Sunshine Yellow

This is the before and after photo of "MY" fruit basket.I spray painted it Sunshine Yellow.This is actually my mother's fruit basket.I think we had it for more than a decade already but we don't use it more often.We usually put our fruits in the refrigerator lest we want the house pets pests (mice) to eat it first. HAHAHA The fruit basket was just at the top of the cupboard and I thought it's just so beautiful to be abandoned like that. I asked Mama if I could have it since I was also planning to buy my own fruit basket. Was I happy that she gave this to me without hesitation. It doesn't look good anymore when I salvaged it. The wood stains are peeling that the color now looks pale and boring. And what better color to choose than Sunshine Yellow! I did a lot of sanding on this project which I must admit is very tiring and painful to my delicate hands. Chaaar! I thought that spray painting is so easy as applying nail polish.But no,I think it's more complicated than applying paint by hand.The impatient in me turned the other side of the petal when I thought the paint was already dry. When I checked hours later,some of the newspapers I used to cover the floor were stuck in the petal.I didn't know how to correct that and I didn't want to go through the tedious step of sanding it again. So here's my Juan Tamad take; I did an indiscriminate spray painting on the damaged area. HAHAHA I love this project. It gave the basket its second life and it made the dining table more lively. Talking about the dining table,I think I know now what my next project will be. But no more spray paint next time. Haha!

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

What I wanted for Christmas 2011, I got in 2012

I was going through my pile of papers when I saw the bunch of letters and cards I received from way back. It included the postcards I received in 2012 from friends who responded to this post I seriously forgot about these cards because the moment I got hold of these it was already months after Christmas.I remember receiving the last bunch of cards from my friend mid of March already. Ha! And now I felt the need to post this as I need to thank these people who "supported" me with my Christmas 2011 wish. I got this cute card and handwritten letter from Hi-C and Sam. Funny how,five years after, Hi-C's penmanship could evoke happy memories of our French course.Mind you,she was the best (girl classmate) in French,both oral and written,in our class. She was our source of notes and answers to assignments.While she'd diligently take down notes,most of us would just kill time and wait for her to finish.After that,we'd all go to our suki 'Ate,pa-Xerox.5 copies.' HAHA I think it's relevant to point out that Hi-C acknowledged on her letter that there was nothing much to write about since "we pretty much update our lives on Twitter and FB." I appreciated her time and effort in writing me a letter in a yellow paper which I have a feeling she got from her leftovers in college. Ha! And Sam's handwriting is cute,too. Something about kids who have just started learning how to write.I can honestly feel the sense of achievement! I got this postcard from Bambi & Kylie. To be honest, I didn't expect a postcard from them since I didn't get a feedback from them when I posted this Christmas wish. Was I surprised when they came home from Singapore for a short vacation and handed me this postcard of the famous merlion. At the back were four photos of me,three of which were taken during my birthday in 2010.By far,that was one eventful birthday I'd like to remember with so much positivity. And I'd like to thank Bambi and Kylie,among our other friends who were also with me that day,because if they weren't with me that day I don't think I'd still be around today. True story. On the lighter note,Kylie apologized that they weren't able to send the postcard through mail. Bambi on the other side, wrote his greetings in cursive but not without inserting that trademark Bambi humor---always including that fat word as adjective to describe my heart but in truth pertaining to my physique. Bugoya bataa! Haha These postcards are from Jason Paul aka Dong Paolo. I got hold of these in the middle of March. It would have been easier for me to give up and not expect from Jason but he was consistent with his promise to send me postcards. Almost every week, he'd tweet me and tell me,among other things,that he was on his way to the post office and the rain poured,he woke up late,he had cases to digest,prepare for the exams,the couple who occupies the room next to his are so noisy he had to go to the library to study. Haha. And then, their final exams came earlier and he had no more excuse to say so he had to send it or else. Haha. I like Jason because he is one of the few people I know who would speak of his hometown with so much passion and enthusiasm. Back in college,some of our classmates would bully him and say "Asa ng Cabadbaran?Naa na sa mapa?" And of course si Jason, bisan nagngitngit na ang pananaw sa kalagot, kabalo gihapon motubag ug depensa sa iyang beloved Narabdabac. <---Seriously, I had to spell it the normal way first before I spelled it backwards. HAHAHA And I'm still wondering why they keep on spelling it backwards. Well,I sometimes spell/call Cebu UBEC. But we never did it with Surigao though. HAHAHA +++++++++++++++++++++&&&&&&&&&&++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++&&&&&&&&&&+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ And that my friends is that one thing I wanted to receive on Christmas 2011----postcard/letter,handwritten and preferably in cursive and sent through mail. Thank you,my dear friends! xoxo